Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Operation Shrimp Day 2 and 3/ Journal #3

So, on Friday, one of my sisters got sick. She then spread it amongst the family and so now everyone in our family is sick. It sucks. Therefore I'm afraid that I will have to pause my Shrimp Adventures until I am well enough to start eating shrimp again. :) But for now, today's meal was "Vit Nau Chao" or Duck and Fermented Bean Curb soup; served hot pot style :) Yummmm! I was going to post up the pictures but I couldn't find the chord to connect the camera to my computer so the pictures will be posted up later this week some time.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Operation Shrimp Day 1/ Journal #2

So I started my week of eating shrimp today and I'll probably extend it a little bit longer than a week but we'll see. Today for dinner I had:
Appetizer:
                                  Quail :)


                            A Type of Asian Spinach Soup with bits of Shrimp

  
      Combination of braised (caramelized) shrimp, pork and fried Vietnamese meatloaf

             My bowl of rice with soup and braised (caramelized) shrimp




That was my dinner, the taste was overall okay. I couldn't stand the texture of the shrimp in my mouth D: I had to practically eat huge chunks of rice just to get the chewy texture of shrimp out of my mouth. The texture of minced shrimp in soups is the WORST!!! Also the flavor just stuck in my mouth like a super bad after taste. The flavor of plain, fresh, unseasoned shrimp is something that people are crazy about but I am not. ):
Rating of meal for day 1: average . . . hopefully I can get through this . . . what is so good about shrimp anyway? (feel free to comment :])

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Operation Shrimp Details.

During 4th period last week, Mr. Walker decided that for the APLAC's final project all of us will be doing a research project about something that we find distasteful, irritating, or uncomfortable doing. So after many hours of pondering to the point of no return, I decided to do my research on shrimp. I hate shrimp . . . well that was a little harsh . . . I STRONGLY DISLIKE shrimp in general. But for this project, what I will be doing is eating shrimp in whatever (edible) form it may come. Most of you will probably think I crazy for not liking (LOVING!!!) shrimp, but that why I will be sacrificing my scrumptious carnivorous ways to eat shrimp . . . for a week. Along the way, I will be posting updates, stories, and journal entries about this "exciting" new adventure. :P Therefore, if anyone has any recipes for shrimp, please feel free to post it! :) 
I shall now start writing my proposal . . . DX